Skip to content ↓

Brandles School

Part of Larwood Academy Trust

Duke of Edinburgh Award


Your D of E programme is a real adventure. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you’re from. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24.

You can do D of E programmes at three levels:

  • Bronze (aged 14+)
  • Silver (aged 15+)
  • Gold (aged 16+)

*Currently we run both the Bronze and Silver Award via The Hub You achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections:

Volunteering: Undertaking service to individuals or the community.
Physical: Improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities.
Skills: Developing practical and social skills as well as personal interests.
Expedition: Planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad.

Bronze Award Requirements

Volunteering Physical  Skills  Expedition
3 months 3 months 3 months Plan, train for and complete a 2 day, 1 night expedition

All participants must undertake a further 3 months in the Volunteering, Physical or Skills section.


Silver Award Requirements


Volunteering Physical & Skills   Expedition
6 months One section for 6 months and the other section for 3 months Plan, train for and complete a 3 day, 2 night expedition

Direct entrants must undertake a further 6 months in the Volunteering or the longer of the Physical or Skills sections.

There is a massive choice of activities that count towards D of E programmes. You can select practically any activity you want – as long as it’s legal and morally acceptable.